HERE for reduced rates and immediate confirmations at The Waldstein
Click here for
of the house Waldstein
building number 19, Valdštejnské square 6, is of very
high value both historical and architectural. Archaeological
research (investigation) has found habitation from the first half of
the 10th century in the
area of small backyard. In the Middle Ages there were two structures
at the border of the plot
(site). On the eastern side there was the tower of Small-town
fortification from the second half of the 13th century, and on the
southern side there was the wall of Saint Thomas´ Cloister from the
In the Gothic period there were two buildings on the site. Up
to the present days there has retained northern periphery wall of
the eastern situated building. From the western situated building
has retained remainders of walls in the basement, same as fragments
of masonry in the southern area of the first floor.
Both building were remodelled during the 16th century. At
that time were the Gothic cellars subsequently valued over to
arches. There is the former (original) planking well-preserved in
There is the well with stone curb in the cellar. One of the
Renaissance buildings with square ground plan situated on eastern
side of building # 19 remained in the ground plan up to these days.
On its first and second floor there were cross vaults in both rooms.
The other Renaissance house was remodelled from former Gothic
building on the west side of the plot.
Most likely in the late Renaissance period
both houses were remodelled and connected. In the same time
this houses were remodelled from the front side and got new fronts
to the street. The cellars were also connected. Probably at that
time were made wooden valve ceilings ornate with white akant leaf.
In contemporary written documents we have names of inhabitants of
both buildings. First is mentioned in the year 1561 Mr. Vít
Šrek, the gate-man of the Czech Royal Chamber. Worth mentioning
is also Mr. Hans Kalhardt who in the 90th of
16th century was in function of clerk in The Empire Court
office of Rudolf II.
Following were the Baroc remodelling in the 17th century,
which gave the building appearance that basically has retained up to
the present days.
At that time the house had already three floors and probably
the wooden ceilings were repainted to coloured plant ornaments. From
the last third 17th century the owner of the house became the family
of well known historic Mr. Gelasia Dobner.
Following Baroc remodelling is referred by written documents.
The owner at that time Mr. Karel Kašpar Debra realised new
remodelling in the year 1753. Northern facade got its contemporary
appearance. In the same time there was built the southern yard part
of the building, probably on the site of similar older building.
Following modern reconstruction did not change the character
of the building. In the beginning of the 20th century the ancestor
of today's owners Mr. Alois Kamarýt has bought the house. In
90th the house went through large reconstruction.
With regard to the unique preserved architectural elements
the house was registered on the list of national cultural heritage
of Czech Republic.
The building is unique situated, close to the Prague Castle,
in calm corner of Valdštejnské square, nearby the most
important institutions the building of Senate and Parliament.